IT Financial Management: Service Categories, Automation, and Transfer Pricing

By Bernd Worlitzer and Fabian Mieloch, Serviceware SE

Ideal financial controlling of IT services, part 2: Categorization of services, decentralization and automation, transfer pricing and SLA management

(This is part two of a three-part blog series dealing with the topic of financial management of IT services. Click here for part one, which discusses the service catalog, TCO, and measuring of consumption.)

4. Breaking down services into different categories/classes

Studies and reports often emphasize the potential savings enabled by IT financial management, but how does this potential come about? One way is via targeted demand management of the business. Based on the service catalog it is possible to divide IT services into various categories. For example, access to a software solution as a business service can be subdivided based on availability: “gold” for 99.5% availability, “silver” for 98% availability and “bronze” for 95% availability. These categories can then be labelled with service levels and prices. Through this process, the IT department is able to control cost drivers (identified thanks to the transparency mentioned in point number 2) and provide the business with specialized and commercial parameters for consumption decisions. Without these parameters, departments often just opt for the highest-possible service level without thinking twice about it. By including the business into these commercial questions, communication happens on eye level leading to higher acceptance of lower service level in different areas of expertise. Additionally, the departments’ responsibility for and consciousness of the used services increases. If a department exclusively buys the “bronze” version of a business service from their own IT and there are temporary system outages, there is a lower level of dissatisfaction since the outages are the result of conscious, informed decisions made by the department.

Furthermore, the entire company profits from the increased efficacy of IT. Expensive IT resources can be controlled purposefully and cost-driving service levels will only be accepted where it is necessary (e.g. for business-critical systems). You will be able to lower costs in the short, middle, and long term while increasing your IT’s competitiveness in the external market – a big win for everyone. According to McKinsey, companies save 5-10% of their IT/shared service costs within the first year and in the long run, they can achieve savings of up to 15-20% per year.

 

(*) Source: Chubak, Kaplan, Kelly (2011): A business-back approach to technology consumption

Master IT cost control in 10 steps

Download our new white paper and learn how to stay on top of IT costs

Proper IT cost management is essential to the successfull expansion of an enterprise. There are many things to consider when it comes to optimizing the underlying processes:

  • What does my IT cost?
  • Where do the costs come from?
  • How do I optimally allocate my IT budget?

Find out how to tackle these questions in our new white paper “10 Steps to Successful IT Cost Management.”

IT cost control

 

5. Decentralized service ordering and volume planning as well as automated authorization workflow

Process automation, standardization, and optimization are central factors of digitization. However, what does an ideal planning process look like? Who is involved, and why? Our experience with our clients’ projects showed that planning processes in the areas of IT and shared services are often handled in a centralized manner without any systematic coordination with the business. There are advantages to that approach, but a lot of potential is lost if the departments have little to no say in the planning process. The reason for not including the entire business is typically that communication between all departments and their representatives is considered difficult and time-consuming. These pain points can be remedied with the help of defined processes and system support. To further emphasize the advantages of including the business in the process, it is also recommendable to utilize a decentralized volume planning that brings each department to analyze their own business services for the following year. If the departments provide unit lists based on these business service analyses, IT will know which components and resources are required.  Preliminary planning can be based on one central suggestion combined with a prognosis supported by key figures, e.g. the pre-year volume demand extrapolated by the development of the number of employees. The people in charge of a given department then receive a benchmark around which they can adjust and report their quantities. This process should be supported by the system, enabling all people responsible to access their data in a planning interface based on their roles and authorizations. The data can then be aggregated and evaluated by (IT) controlling, thereby creating a clearer picture of future cycles while allowing for a more efficient allocation of expensive resources and licenses as well as the systematic reduction of costs.

The operational retrieval of services in the current year – i.e. reorders and cancellations of business services – can be automated using the system via a web shop. This allows for standardization and automation of all downstream processes (authorization review for the inquiring party, authorization by superiors and heads of department, etc.). Furthermore, standardization and automation significantly reduces administrative efforts, since all inquiries are now sent through one central platform.

Because the departments are involved in volume planning from the get-go, responsibility within each department generally increases. Moreover, acceptance towards back payments caused by short-term volume changes for the following year.

Service catalog web shop

6. Transfer Pricing – Automated premium and SLA management for transnational transactions

In the age of globalization, more and more companies act within corporate structures that include a myriad of different corporations scattered across multiple countries and continents. This results in higher tax demands towards transfer pricing when it comes to the billing of services across country and company borders, putting special emphasis on the documentation of these billing processes.

Based on our experience, there are three core elements to this documentation:

  1. Pricing – How was the price calculated? What does the unit cost calculation look like and what addition was used to recharge it?
  2. Settled quantities – Which service quantities were settled and on what basis did they get to these numbers?
  3. Contract – What is the contractual basis for the services delivered for their respective prices und which service levels were applied?

This information needs to be documented in its entirety, on time, and in a comprehensive manner. In the case of a company audit you want to be able to provide all necessary documentation even on issues that lie many years in the past. If you want to achieve this with as little effort as possible, system support is absolutely necessary. By using billing tools you can gain additional advantages: Through the reporting functionality of the system you can assess how unit costs, premiums, and service prices develop over the course of certain periods and what caused them in the first place. Moreover, through the automated acquisition of data the neutrality of documentation can be guaranteed thereby increasing credibility in the auditing process and minimizing the risk of tax-related back payments.

Even outside of transfer pricing, system-supported price management including premiums and discounts for unit costs can gran further substantial advantages. By implementing strategic (political) prices, you can offer business services especially expensive or cheap (subsidized). Consequentially, IT has the opportunity to make particularly complex, tedious, and expensive service successively less attractive and let them phase out and – vice versa – to support the utilization of strategically important technologies. This way, IT gains an additional tool to reach their goal of further standardization and increased efficiency, without losing any acceptance and appreciation from the departments.

 

To be continued!

Then we will cover the following topics:

  1. Automated invoicing
  2. Scenario management and planned/actual comparisons
  3. Reporting

IT Financial Management: Service-Kategorien, Automatisierung und Transfer Pricing

Von Bernd Worlitzer & Fabian Mieloch, Serviceware SE

Idealtypische finanzielle Steuerung von IT-Services, Teil 2: Kategorisierung von Services,  Dezentralisierung und Automatisierung, Transfer Pricing und SLA-Management

(Dies ist Teil 2 einer dreiteiligen Blogreihe rund um das Finanzmanagement von IT-Services. Klicken Sie hier für Teil 1, in dem es um den Servicekatalog, TCO und Verbrauchserfassung geht.)

4. Aufteilung der Services in verschiedene Kategorien/Abstufungen/Klassen

In Studien und Berichten werden oftmals die Einsparpotentiale des IT Finanz-Managements hervorgehoben. Doch wie entstehen diese? Ein Hebel dazu ist die zielgerichtete Nachfragesteuerung des Business. Anhand des Service-Katalogs können die Leistungen und Services der IT in Kategorien eingestuft werden. Somit entsteht beispielsweise die Möglichkeit, den Zugriff auf eine Softwarelösung in Form einer Business Service Kategorisierung in eine „Gold“-Variante mit einer Verfügbarkeit von 99,5%, einer „Silber“-Variante mit einer Verfügbarkeit von 98 % und einer „Bronze“-Variante mit einer Verfügbarkeit von 95% zu gliedern und diese mit unterschiedlichen Service Levels und Preisen auszustatten. Auf diese Weise wird die IT in die Lage versetzt, Kostentreiber (die durch die Transparenz unter Punkt 2 identifiziert werden konnten) bewusst zu steuern und dem Business nicht nur fachliche, sondern auch kaufmännische Parameter für seine Konsumentscheidung an die Hand zu geben. Passiert dies nicht, verlangen die konsumierenden Fachbereiche oftmals unreflektiert den höchstmöglichen Service Level. Diese Einbeziehung des Business in die kaufmännischen Fragestellungen führt zu einer Kommunikation auf Augenhöhe und einer besseren Akzeptanz für niedrigere Service Level beim Fachbereich. Zusätzlich steigen die Verantwortung und das Bewusstsein in den Fachbereichen für die eingekaufte Leistung. Wird von einem Business Service ausschließlich die „Bronze“-Variante bei der eigenen IT bestellt, sinkt erfahrungsgemäß auch die Unzufriedenheit, wenn die Systeme temporär nicht verfügbar sind, da dies die Konsequenz der eigenen bewussten Fachbereichsentscheidung ist.

Darüber hinaus profitiert das gesamte Unternehmen durch eine erhöhte Effizienz in der IT. Teure IT Ressourcen werden bewusst gesteuert und kostentreibende Service-Levels werden nur noch in den Bereichen akzeptiert, in denen sie zwingend erforderlich sind (bspw. weil es sich um geschäftskritische Systeme handelt)., Kosten werden damit kurz-, mittel-, und langfristig gesenkt und die Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der eigenen IT im Vergleich zum externen Markt  wird gesteigert – dies ist am Ende ein Gewinn für alle. Laut McKinsey sparen Unternehmen kurzfristig 5-10% der IT bzw. Shared Service Kosten bereits im ersten Jahr und langfristig können Einsparungen von 15-20% p.a. realisiert werden (*).

 

(*) Quelle: Chubak, Kaplan, Kelly (2011): A business-back approach to technology consumption

Sonderdruck der Computerwoche zum Thema IT-Budgetierung

Lesen Sie den Artikel „Die IT-Budgetierung folgt neuen Gesetzen“ und finden Sie heraus, wie Sie ihre IT-Budgeting bereit für die Zukunft machen.

  • Nutzen und Einsatz eines IT-Servicekatalogs
  • Bedeutung von Budgetierungsansätzen sowie Run-/Grow-Budgets
  • Vorteile von ITFM-Tools
Computerwoche Titelbild

5. Dezentrale Servicebestellung und Mengenplanung sowie automatisierter Genehmigungsworkflow

Prozessautomatisierung, -standardisierung und –optimierung sind zentrale Kernfaktoren der Digitalisierung. Wie sieht aber ein idealer Planungsprozess aus, wer wird darin einbezogen und warum? Unsere Erfahrung aus Kundenprojekten der letzten Jahre zeigt, dass der Planungsprozess in der IT und den Shared Service Bereichen oftmals weitestgehend zentral, also ohne systematische Abstimmung mit dem Business erfolgt. Dies hat seine Vorteile und Berechtigung, dennoch geht viel Potential verloren, wenn die Fachbereiche gar nicht oder nur zu einem geringen Teil in die Planung miteinbezogen werden. Oftmals wird das Business dabei vor allem deshalb nicht miteinbezogen, weil die Kommunikation mit allen Ansprechpartnern als schwierig und aufwändig eingeschätzt wird. Diese Sorgen können mithilfe definierter Prozesse und einer Systemunterstützung genommen werden. Um die Vorteile einer Einbeziehung des Business zu heben, bietet sich eine dezentrale Mengenplanung an, in der jeder Fachbereich seine Business Services für das kommende Jahr überprüft. Die erforderlichen Einzelkomponenten und Ressourcen aus der IT ergeben sich dann anhand von Stücklisten aufgrund der Business Service Planung. Die Planung kann zunächst auf einem zentralen Vorschlag in Kombination mit einer kennzahlengestützten Prognosefunktion basieren, beispielsweise der Mengennachfrage aus dem Vorjahr extrapoliert um die Entwicklung der Anzahl Mitarbeiter. Die Fachbereichsverantwortlichen erhalten einen Richtwert, an dem sie ihre Mengen anpassen und zurückmelden können. Dies sollte systemgestützt passieren, sodass alle Verantwortlichen Rechte- und Rollen-basiert auf ihre Daten in einer Planungsmaske zugreifen können und diese im (IT-)Controlling aggregiert ausgewertet werden können. Auf diese Weise wird ein präziseres Bild der zukünftigen Periode gezeichnet, teure Ressourcen und Lizenzen werden effizienter allokiert und Kosteneinsparungen systematisch realisiert.

Der operative Abruf von Services im laufenden Jahr, also Nachbestellungen und Stornierungen von Business Services können systemgestützt über einen Web-Shop automatisiert werden, um alle nachgelagerten Prozesse (Berechtigungsprüfung beim Anfrager, Genehmigung durch Vorgesetzte und Bereichsleiter, etc.) standardisieren und automatisieren zu können.

Darüber hinaus wird durch die Standardisierung und Automatisierung der administrative Aufwand deutlich reduziert, da nun alle Anfragen kanalisiert über eine zentrale Plattform erfolgen.

Aufgrund der Tatsache, dass der Fachbereich von Anfang an in die Mengenplanung eingebunden ist, steigt zudem in aller Regel das Verantwortungsbewusstsein im Fachbereich und die Akzeptanz für Nachzahlungen, die sich aufgrund von kurzfristigen Mengenänderungen im laufenden Jahr ergeben.

Servicekatalog

6. Transfer Pricing – Automatisiertes Aufschlags- und SLA-Management bei landesübergreifenden Transaktionen

In Zeiten der Globalisierung agieren immer mehr Unternehmen in Konzernstrukturen mit einer Fülle an unterschiedlichen Gesellschaften, die über zahlreiche Länder und Kontinente verteilt sind. Damit steigen auch die steuerlichen Anforderungen an das Transfer Pricing bei der Verrechnung von Leistungen über Landes- und Gesellschaftsgrenzen hinweg. Der Dokumentation der Verrechnungsvorgänge kommt dabei eine zentrale Bedeutung zu.

Aus unserer Erfahrung sind dabei vor allem drei Kernelemente für die Dokumentation essentiell:

  1. Preiskalkulation – Wie ist der verrechnete Preis entstanden? Wie sieht die Stückkostenkalkulation hinter der erbrachten Leistung aus und mit welchem Aufschlag wurde diese weiterverrechnet?
  2. Verrechnete Mengen – Welche Leistungs-Menge wurde verrechnet und auf welcher Grundlage wurde diese ermittelt?
  3. Vertrag – Aufgrund welcher vertraglichen Grundlage sind die Leistungen zu den definierten Preisen erbracht worden und welche Service Level wurden angewandt?

All diese Informationen müssen vollständig, periodengerecht und nachvollziehbar dokumentiert werden, um bei einer Betriebsprüfung auch nach vielen Jahren die erforderlichen Nachweise erbringen zu können. Damit dies mit möglichst wenig Aufwand erfolgen kann, ist eine Systemunterstützung zwingend erforderlich. Durch den Einsatz eines Verrechnungs-Tools werden dabei weitere Vorteile generiert: Im Reporting des Systems wird aufgezeigt, wie sich die Stückkosten, Aufschläge und Preise der Leistungen über die Perioden entwickeln und wie diese entstanden sind. Mit der maschinellen Erfassung von Daten kann außerdem die Neutralität der Dokumentation angenommen werden. Das Vertrauen des Betriebsprüfers wird erhöht und das Risiko für steuerliche Nachzahlungen minimiert.

Ein systemgestütztes Preismanagement mit Auf- oder Abschlägen auf die Stückkosten führt auch außerhalb des Transfer Pricings zu elementaren Vorteilen. Durch die Nutzung strategischer (politischer) Preise können Business Services besonders teuer oder günstig (subventioniert) angeboten werden. Somit erhält die IT die Möglichkeit, besonders komplexe, aufwändige und teure Leistungen sukzessive unattraktiv zu machen und damit auslaufen zu lassen. Umgekehrt kann die Nutzung strategisch wichtiger Technologien unterstützt werden Damit wird der IT ein weiteres Werkzeug an die Hand gegeben, um ihre Ziele zur Standardisierung und Effizienzsteigerung zu erreichen, ohne dabei die Akzeptanz und Wertschätzung in den Fachbereichen zu verlieren.

Fortsetzung folgt!

Dann geht es um folgende Themen:

7. Automatisierte Rechnungsstellung

8. Szenariomanagement und Plan-/Ist-Vergleich

9. Reporting